NodeConf Remote 2021 preview: 4 must-see talks

Red Hat is heading to NodeConf Remote, 18-21 October 2021, to demonstrate a few of our favorite production-quality tools and solutions, all designed to help your team maintain their productivity while successfully navigating the vast and rapidly-changing cloud-native landscape. Talk with an expert during the virtual booth crawl and get a look at our latest workflows for building cloud-native JavaScript solutions on Kubernetes and OpenShift. Our open source experts will be available to show you how JS and Node.js integrate with other technologies like authentication, distributed data caching and streaming, or business automation, to deliver real value to customers.

Talks:

Navigating the npm Ecosystem in the Enterprise
Bethany Griggs, Sr. Software Engineer, Red Hat
Monday, 18 October, 9:00 am ET / 1:00 pm UTC
The npm ecosystem is fast-moving and vibrant, and with over 1.6 million modules there’s considerable choice and variety too. For some aspects, you’ll likely find several equally good modules, as well as several potentially very bad choices. In some cases, you’ll search for the best fitting, newest, or most innovative modules to use. Yet in other cases, you may want something that just works based on past experiences or best practices within your organisation. These choices need to be routinely evaluated and there is value in attempting to predict future trends – what may be a good choice today may not be in the future. This talk will share how our organisation is approaching this challenge and what we’ve learned so far. We’ll also deep dive into an example of how we’re trying to predict future ecosystem trends in the context of Node.js web frameworks.

Node.js – What’s next
Michael Dawson, Node.js lead for Red Hat
Monday, 18 October, 11:00 am ET / 3:00 pm UTC
Want to know what is next for Node.js? New features? Major changes? Key initiatives at the technical and organisational level? This talk will give you an update on what is up and coming on the Node.js front across the board:

  • Learn about new features in the latest versions of Node.js
  • Learn about strategic initiatives and what teams are working on within the Node.js community.
  • Gain insight into how to leverage some of the new technology within Node.js.

Consuming new Node.js observability features in Kubernetes environments
Luke Holmquist (@sienaluke), Sr. Software Engineer, Red Hat
Tuesday, 19 October, 12:00 pm ET / 4:00 pm UTC
Once you get your application running in production, the next question is how do you keep it running and running well? Being able to observe what’s going on within your application, the resources it is using and when things are outside the expected norms is an important part of the answer. Learn about the key metrics provided by the Node.js runtime including some new additions and how you can consume these in a Kubernetes environment.

Workshops:

Developing Cloud Native Node.js Applications
Bethany Giggs, Luke Holmquist, Michael Dawson, Ryan Jarvinen
Wednesday, 20 October, 8:30 am ET / 12:30 pm UTC
This workshop provides an introduction to cloud native development with Node.js. The workshop will walk you through building cloud native Node.js applications, including demonstrating typical components that form part of the Red Hat and IBM Node.js Reference Architecture. Next, we’ll take you through a full stack deployment on Kubernetes. The workshop will cover key cloud native concepts and technologies, including health checks, metrics, Docker, Kubernetes, Prometheus, Grafana.

Learn more about what Red Hat are up to on the Node.js front:

Red Hat is a proud sponsor of NodeConf Remote 2021. We hope to see you there virtually!

Don’t miss a beat

Get all the latest NearForm news,
from technology to design.
View all posts  |  Technology  |  Business  |  Culture  |  Opinion  |  Design
Follow us for more information on this and other topics.